In 1956, Pastor Allan H. Fenner arrived in Williamsburg as a Lutheran Mission Developer. A survey had revealed there were 75 Lutherans in the area, plus 50 Lutheran students at the College of William and Mary. Groundbreaking on the initial phase of the St Stephen church building was conducted in 1962. St Stephen celebrated its 60th anniversary in 2016, and continues to serve a vibrant congregation, and William & Mary students in the Lutheran Student Association.
For a detailed chronological list of St Stephen activities please click on the link below.
In July of 2019, Pastor Andy Ballentine retired from ministry. His blog and biographical information are available at the links below.